Organising Committee

Local Organising Committee

Jeff Parnell (Co-chair)
Senior Advisor Acoustics, Sydney Metro

Jeff Parnell is the President Elect of the Australian Acoustical Society and Co-Chair of the Joint ASA/AAS Sydney 2023 Meeting. He is also the 1st Vice Chairman of the Western Pacific Commission for Acoustics which is also incorporated in the Sydney 2023 event. For more than 25 years Jeff has worked in specialist environmental acoustics positions across the breath of NSW Government in the various transport agencies, as well as in the EPA and Department of Planning. He is currently working for Sydney Metro on the new rail network and is also a Visiting Fellow at UTS in the Centre for Audio, Acoustics and Vibration. Jeff is an author on more than 50 conference and journal papers. 

John Wassermann
Director, Wilkinson Murray

John is a Mechanical Engineer with 20 years experience in the public and private sectors. He has been involved in the consulting industry for 14 years providing consulting services in acoustics, vibration and air quality. John has worked with the NSW State Government for the seven years. Initially as the Manager of the Noise Assessments area for the EPA and then as Manager Transport for the Major Infrastructure Assessment area of the Department of Planning. 

Ray Kirby
Associate Professor and Director of Tech Labs Operations, University of Technology Sydney 

Ray Kirby did his PhD in acoustics at Hull and Loughborough Universities in the UK. His PhD focussed on the design of automotive exhaust silencers, and he later returned to Hull to work as a research associate on sound propagation in HVAC ducts. On leaving Hull in 1999, he joined BUL as a lecturer and contributed to many Government and industry-sponsored research projects in the field of acoustics. His recent research interests have focussed on the development of efficient computational models for the analysis of guided waves, which have been applied to the propagation of sound in fluids, but also in elastic structures.

Marion Burgess
Honorary Associate Professor, University New South Wales

For over 40 years Marion has primarily worked in noise including building, environmental and occupational noise measurement, assessments, control, and research. She has gathered diverse experience across teaching, research, and consulting.  Since retiring in 2017, Marion has continued an active involvement as an Honorary Assoc Professor at the University of New South Wales.  Marion has published widely and regularly participates in national and international acoustics meetings and is currently the chief editor of the journal Acoustics Australia. She is the Past President of the International Institute of Noise Control Engineering and a previous President of the International Commission for Acoustics.  She has been involved from the outset as co-organiser of the ICA International Year of Sound 2020-2021. 

International Organising Committee

Marcia J. Isakson (Co-chair)
Research Scientist and Lecturer, The University of Texas in Austin

Marcia J. Isakson is the Director of Strategic Programs and a Research Scientist at the Applied Research Laboratories at The University of Texas at Austin (ARL:UT).  Dr. Isakson received her B.S. in engineering physics and mathematics from the United States Military Academy at West Point in 1992.  CPT Isakson served in the United States Army from 1994-1997 at Fort Hood, Texas.  She earned a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Texas at Austin in 2002.   Dr. Isakson currently serves on the governing board of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the Ocean Studies Board at the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine.  She is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA) and served as ASA President from 2017 to 2018.

James Miller
Professor, Department of Ocean Engineering

James H. Miller earned his B.S. in Electrical Engineering in 1979 from Worcester Polytechnic Institute, his M.S. in Electrical Engineering in 1981 from Stanford University, and his Doctor of Science in Oceanographic Engineering in 1987 from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.  He was on the faculty of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, California from 1987 through 1995.  Since 1995 he has been on the faculty of the Department of Ocean Engineering at the University of Rhode Island where he holds the rank of Professor and Chair of the Department of Ocean Engineering. Dr. Miller conducts research in the fields of underwater acoustics, sonar, acoustical oceanography, marine bioacoustics, and the impact of noise from anthropogenic activities such as wind farm construction and operation. He is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and served as ASA’s President in 2013-2014.

Susan E. Fox
Executive Director, Acoustical Society of America

Susan is Executive Director of the Acoustical Society of America. A Fellow of the American Society of Association Executives, Susan earned her M.S. in Public Affairs from the McCormack Graduate School of Policy and Global Studies, University of Massachusetts, Boston. She specializes in institutional change, governance, strategic positioning, and organizational development. Previously she served as Executive Director of the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S., the American Association of Law Libraries, the Society of American Archivists, and as Director of Programs at the Harvard Kennedy School Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs.